How do we know which Feng Shui Symbols, are the right ones?


People can get confused when choosing the right Feng Shui Symbols, but it isn’t too hard once you know what to choose from. It’s important to note that you need not fill rooms with tonnes of different Feng Shui symbols.

Remember less is more, and the symbols that you do pick need to create a harmonious balance. After all, the key to achieving good energy is balanced, and you need to achieve the correct balance to invite good Chi and experience the benefits of harmonious Feng Shui in your life.

There is a huge range of symbols, and you may have to orient yourself properly about these before hanging any in your home.

In order to select the right Feng Shui symbols, you must have an emotional relationship with the object you are using as a symbol. There are numerous qualities imbued by different symbols. For example, some Feng Shui symbols cure bad luck. Others supplement the energy that is already present in your home or office. The overall mood that you are trying to convey must be in mind from the offset.

Here’s a beginners guide to the different types of Feng Shui symbols and the cures they offer. There are more in-depth articles discussing each symbol, however, you can use this guide to get a great initial understanding of symbols and their benefits.



There are many crystals available for Feng Shui purposes. It is useful to become familiar with their particular functions and uses. Crystals are beautiful and can be incorporated into decor across the home and office. Being used as door handles, light fixtures etc, or simply stand alone decorations. The colours of the crystals are unique,  captivating and will add character to any room. Make sure you take good care of your crystals, washing them regularly
to stop dust acting as clutter and lessening the energy.

Here are some Crystals used as Feng Shui symbols and a quick look at their cures. To achieve prosperity, for example, you would consider incorporating Pyrite into your office environment.

  1. Clear Quartz –  Clearing, protecting and strengthening your energy field.
  2. Rose Quartz – Softness, gentleness, sweet love and healing.
  3. Amethyst – Purify your energy, and leave you longing for deep spiritual experiences.
  4.  Jade – Soothing, renewing and softly energizing.
  5. Tigers Eye – Protector – watchful, strong, quick and very efficient.
  6. Pyrite – Wealth, protection, discipline and money.
  7. Carnelian – Warmth and wisdom, lessen limitations, fame & reputation.
  8. Ammonite – Clearing, powerful and energizing, clears stagnation, blockages & low energy.

Essential Oils

Essential oils are used as Feng Shui symbols that provide specific energy through the sense of scent. Be careful not to use so much that you overpower an environment and try to keep a variety of oils rather than using the same one over and over.  Below is a list of the various oils available and the cures they offer:

  1. Benzoin – Clears a room after an argument.
  2. Bergamot – Combats anxiety and depression.
  3. Chamomile – Relaxing and stress relieving.
  4. Eucalyptus – Encourages deep breathing
  5. Frankincense – Grounding and comforting
  6. Geranium – Reduces inflamed tempers
  7. Jasmin – Enhances optimism and confidence.
  8. Lavender – Calms the mind and assists in the release of obsessive thoughts
  9. Lemon – Provides Clarity
  10. Marjoram – Grounds the energy in a room
  11. Myrrh – Solidifies a shifting energy
  12. Patchouli – Calming and grounding
  13. Rose – Activates the senses and arouses the passions
  14. Rosewood – Aids headaches and lessens nausea
  15. Rosemary – Combats mental fatigue and nervous exhaustion
  16. Sandalwood – Combats depression and uplifts the spirits
  17. Sweet Basil – Soothes nervous tension and general irritability
  18. Tangerine – Rejuvenates the spirits and lagging energy
  19. Tea Tree – Calming and grounding
  20. Ylang Ylang – An aphrodisiac. Not recommended for work settings!



Animals are used heavily as Feng Shui symbols. Again, each animal represents a different meaning and you will be drawn to some more than others depending on factors such as your birth element, or Kua number. Here are some of the animals used and a brief explanation of what they represent.

  1. Dragon – Attract positive chi and good luck
  2. Fu Dogs – Guard homes from negative influence.
  3. Goldfish – Good luck and healthy Chi energy.
  4. Three Legged Frog – Money and abundance.
  5. Red Bats – Money and Fortune.
  6. Crane – Longevity and Good Luck.
  7. Golden Elephants – Attract Wealth.
  8. Turtles – Wealth and Good Luck.
  9. Rooster – Protects from deceit and negativity.
  10. Mandarin Ducks – Attract love.
  11. Cats – Good Fortune.
  12. Elephants –  Strength, knowledge, and fertility.
  13. Arowana Fish – Success in career.
  14. Peacock – Peace and harmony.
  15. Camel – Prevent wealth loss and stabilize finances.
  16. Phoenix – eternal love and harmony.
  17. Horse – Success, Fame and Speed.



Every color is related to one of the 5 feng shui elements: Fire, Earth, Metal, Water, and Wood. Each of these elements rules a specific area of your home. When your choice of color works in balance with a  feng shui element of the area you are decorating, it results in very positive Chi.


Water Fountains

Water Fountains provide serenity and introduce the element of water. In feng shui, water represents income and an accumulation of water represents an accumulation of assets, such as houses, cars, businesses, etc.

Facing your fountain towards a certain direction symbolises a different element:

  1. East – Health & Family.
  2. Southeast – Wealth & Money.
  3. North – Career & Path in Life.

Don’t position your Water Fountain facing South, as the South direction needs fire energy. Placing a water fountain in this way will create conflicting energy between fire and water.

This is a guide describing Feng Shui symbols and their uses in different areas. Hopefully, you now have a better understanding of these Symbols and the benefits they provide by combining them with your Feng Shui practices.